Irish Penal Reform Trust

IPRT Board of Directors

Seamus Taylor (Chairperson)

Seamus is a Lecturer in Social Policy Studies in the Department of Applied Social Studies, NUI Maynooth. He has worked as Director of Equality and Diversity at the public prosecution service for England and Wales and as Director of Strategy at the Commission for Racial Equality, as well as working in local government and serving on a number of national bodies in Britain. He is currently a member of the UK based Hate Crime Research Group. Seamus was awarded a CBE in the British Honours system in 2010 in recognition of work on equality in the UK legal system.

Aislinn O'Donnell (Vice Chairperson)

Aislinn is a Professor of Education in Maynooth University. She has lectured in Philosophy and Philosophy of Education at a number of universities including the University of Dundee, University College Dublin, National College of Art and Design, and Mary Immaculate College (University of Limerick). Her writing, teaching and research involve engagement in a range of formal settings, such as schools, as well as informal settings and non-traditional sites of learning, including closed institutions. She has published widely, including on topics relating to imprisonment and education.

Kevin Gregory (Treasurer)

Kevin is Director of Finance, IT & Governance with Barnardos Ireland.  A Chartered Accountant, Kevin has considerable experience in the not for profit sector, working at a senior level in The Community Foundation for Ireland, Business in the Community, Focus Ireland, Vita and St. Michaels House.  Kevin previously was an Associate Director with Savills and Head of Finance and Operations in an ecommerce firm.  Kevin qualified as a Chartered Accountant with PwC and has a B.Comm, MSc and Diploma in Project Management.

Kathleen Leader (Secretary)

Kathleen is a practising barrister, working in the area of criminal law. She has been Senior Counsel since 2018, having previously been Junior Counsel since 2002.

Eddie D’Arcy

Eddie has decades of youth work experience and is the former CEO of the Solas Project. Eddie also lectures on a part-time basis on the BA Hons Youth Work in DKIT.

Joan O'Flynn

Joan O'Flynn has wide-ranging experience in social inclusion research, policy and practice gained through working in civil and public service and voluntary sector in Ireland and the community sector in Britain. Joan's former roles include CEO and National President of the Camogie Association; Director of the National Advisory Committee on Drugs and Drugs Policy advisor, Department of Health; working in the Dormant Accounts Division and Social Inclusion Units in Departments of Community, Rural & Gaeltacht Affairs and Department of Social Protection; Head of Communications and Public Education and Head of Programmes with the Combat Poverty Agency. Joan is currently an independent consultant and in July 2020 was appointed Acting CEO of Glencree.

David Perry

David is a barrister practising primarily in the areas of criminal law, prison law and human rights law. He is a lecturer at the Honorable Society of King's Inns, where he teaches Human Rights Law and Criminal Practice. David has formerly worked as a judicial assistant at the European Court of Human Rights, an assistant clerk at the United States Federal District Court, and a legal adviser for Trocáire.

Niall Walsh

Niall is Manager of the Pathways Centre and is involved with prison education and the education and support of prisoners post-release. A graduate of the Trinity Access Programme at Trinity College Dublin, Niall holds a degree in Social Science from NUI Maynooth, a Postgraduate Diploma in Adult and Community Education and a Postgraduate in Education Management, both from Maynooth University and a Masters in Criminology from Dublin Institute of Technology. Niall is on the Advisory Panel of the Prisoner Support Network and a member of the Irish Prison Service Research Panel.

Respect for rights in the penal system with prison as a last resort.



Contact us

  • Tel: 01 874 1400
  • More
viewed here